The Final Fate of Travian Champions?

Over five long months ago, I said that I was optimistic that I would be able to find a way to make room in my schedule to update this website regularly. Obviously,  I was way off on that call.

Since that time, I’ve kept hoping that things would balance themselves out for me in real life, and that I’ve be able to make a triumphant return to blogging about Travian and other online games. I really enjoyed this site, I kept it going for about a year and I had a great time doing it. And I didn’t want to give up if I thought there was still a chance that I could get it going again, in some way.

But, it’s been several months now, and after a new promotion at work, and taking some time to look at the amount of courses I still need to complete to finish my education (stupid education!) and how much work they’re going to be, it’s finally sunk in that going back to updating this site isn’t something that’s realistic for me, and won’t be in the future. Staying up to date on what’s happening on various Travian servers takes a huge time commitment. So does playing Travian at a high level. I probably should have come to this decision a few months ago, but I was holding out for a miracle. I really don’t want to give up on this site, but I really don’t think I have a choice but to pull out at this point. This is a hard decision because I love playing Travian, I can say without any exaggeration that it’s my favourite game I’ve ever played. If I could only play one videogame for the rest of my life, I would choose Travian in a heartbeat. Also, I love talking about Travian, I love writing in general, and I love WordPress. But I also love accounting, I love getting good grades, and love making $21 an hour.

So, well, that’s that.

I’m really proud of the work I was able to do with this site, even though it never really got to the level I wanted it to, it was still a big success. And I’d like to see it continue. So if there’s anyone out there who is a die-hard Travian lover who would be interested in taking this site over, and making it your own, please feel free to send me an e-mail at 1randomgeek@gmail.com, and let me know why you’d like to take over running this site and what you’d like to do with it.

Even though this site hasn’t been updated in months, it still gets over 300 hits a day. And on days where I’ve had a big story, I’ve had well over 1,000 hits per day. So there’s definitely a big readership out there for a site like this, and a lot of potential for great things you can do with it.

(I toyed with the idea of just turning this site into my own personal blog which I would just update whenever I feel like with any random thing I feel like, but I’d rather it just stayed Travian focused.)

I’d like to thank the creators of Travian for making such a great game, and to all the people at Travian Games GMBH who keep it running and keep pushing it to greater heights. I want to thank all of the administrators, multihunters, support crew, and everyone else at Travian.com. Thank to all the players who compete so hard who gave me so much to write about. I wish I could keep this running because there are so many great players and alliances who deserve to be in the Hall of Fame. Almost all the players who I talked to or did coverage on were great people who were really cool to get to know. Best of luck to all of you in the future. And finally, thanks to everyone who came and read this site while I was at the helm of it. I’m really happy it was able to achieve the success that it did, and I’m going to leave it up as long as people keep visiting it (seriously, 300 hits a day for doing nothing is actually pretty cool).

Peace out!

-Randomgeek

5 Responses

  1. RandomGeek, you’ve made an irreplaceable contribution to the bigger world of travian – just the tracking on these stats and information must have taken a tremendous amount of time.

    I want to thank you for the historical data you’ve kept here. Our play on s6 was based on much of the previous server data you preserved. Being able to look up C0unsel’s SA group and Love Machine’s history has been invaluable.

    The Wild wishes you the best for your future and thank you for your efforts!

  2. I’m with Gira on this on. This site and your contribution have been fantastic. Thanks for all your hard work, RandomGeek.

    On an unrelated note… Gira! Fancy bumping into you here!

  3. Great work on the site bro . Please contact me would love to talk to you about a few things site related.

  4. Great travian blog

  5. I keep checking this site, as I watched it grow from the beginning. I keep hoping that it comes back to life.
    If your interested in guest posting (or guests writing you articles) then I could probly help you out and help get this site back to life.

Leave a comment