Solo Play

Godspeed wrote a reply to the post where I talked about being burnt out from playing Server 9. I thought I’d reply to some of what he said.  

Yep we all get tired at some point.
That ‘burn out effect’ but in you case your like the superman of travian with all the coverage

This is why I sugest it’s time to make a team = more guys = more coverage = better quality work = more free time etc etc

It’s WIN WIN scenario for all parties involved us the reads and you the founder of this place.

I appreciate Godspeed’s concern, and his idea of building a team isn’t a bad one, but I do think it’s a bit idllyc and it’s not the direction that I’m planning on going in. While I welcome other people’s contributions to the site, building a team and then coordinating it would be a lot of work. I tried to get contributors to help cover the regional servers, and that really fizzled out with very little to show for it. In that case, more guys did not = more coverage and better quality. All it lead to was me saying that there would be more coverage and then me feeling bad because it never happened.

So I’m a bit wary of putting a lot of effort into trying to get more people to help with the site. I can’t pay anyone, I can’t get anyone to sign a contract, so there’s not really anything I can do if someone flakes out. If that happens, it leaves me in a position where I’ve promised something (more coverage and more updates) and now I’ve got to do it myself or not deliver.

Maybe my post didn’t make it clear enough that I have a plan for keeping the site regularly updated and making it better as time goes on – and that plan mostly involves things that I’ll be doing on my own. After Server 9 ends, I’ll have a lot more free time to work on the site. I’ve been playing it pretty much since the Travian Champions began, and I’ve played it pretty much every day as much as I can.

I don’t really think I need to build a team to help make the site better. Having a team COULD help the site, if everything goes right, but I think it would make my life harder, not easier right now. Travian is a time consuming game, and I don’t think there’s a big population of people who will contribute regularly to a site like this that I can tap into. But if anyone ever does want to help with the site, feel free to send me an e-mail or contact me on Skype. I’m always open to hearing ideas.

Still, managing a team of bloggers sounds daunting and stressful. What if I wanted (or needed) to take a day off? Having other people counting on me isn’t an idea I like, especially when I feel that I still have a lot to learn.

The big improvement that I’m reaching for is how I manage my own time, not having to manage other people.

After Server 9 ends, I’m going to be changing my system for updating the site, and hopefully taking it to another level. It’s going to be a period of change and finding new ways to do things. I’ve got a lot of ideas and a long to-do list, and I’m really excited to take this chance to take a break from playing Travian as hardcore as I normally do, and I really think it will give me time to do things I haven’t had time to focus on. I really want to focus on improving myself, not trying to manage others.

But first, I have a game of Travian to finish!

2 Responses

  1. I just wanted to say thanks for all that you do. For us players who casually play, your site is an invaluable resource to catch us up on the events of the server. Judging from the comments (lack of) it seems to be a thankless job. And when someone does comment it is usually to correct some perceived injustice in one of you posts.

    So once again thank you for the time and effort you put into your site.

Leave a Reply

