Online Gaming and Music

If you’ve been visiting this site for a while, you’ve probably got a good idea about what my musical tastes are like.(See the Brand New video I recently posted for one example).

Since I’m a pretty hardcore gamer, it probably comes as no surprise that I have specific music that I like to listen to when I play Travian and other online games. There’s an interesting post by Goemon over at Online Strategy Games where he discusses some good songs to listen to when playing Lord of Ultima. One of his recommendations:

I prefer something a little more relaxed for my Travian playing, normally something with an epic feel to it. I usually listen to a band like U2 or The Tragically Hip. Coldplay’s latest album has a nice militaristic feel it, even though Coldplay is a pretty mellow band.

Recently I made a Mix playlist to listen to, where I alternate between songs that I like and music from the soundtrack of Breath of Fire 2 (one of my favourite RPGs for Super Nintendo back in the day). A lot of the music from that game goes really good with Travian. Here’s an example:

Do you have music that you like to listen to when you’re playing Travian? Leave a comment after this post and let me know!

One Response

  1. […] PDRTJS_settings_1443609_post_1013 = { "id" : "1443609", "unique_id" : "wp-post-1013", "title" : "Age+of+Ocean+vs+Other+OSGs%3A+Fight%21", "item_id" : "_post_1013", "permalink" : "http%3A%2F%2Fosg1.com%2F2010%2F05%2F07%2Fage-of-ocean-vs-other-osgs-fight%2F" } I suggested Goemon check out Age of Ocean so he could write us another music article. While he’s writing that one he was kind enough to give us his own thoughts on the game. Consider it a second opinion. Also, if you can’t wait for Goemon’s next musical selection, Randomgeek just posted his own musical tastes to accompany Travian. […]

Leave a Reply

