Issue #2 of Travian News Magazine is Out!

The cover of issue #2 of Travian New Magazine

The second issue of Travian News Magazine is online now. This issue expands to 25 pages, quite a jump from the first issue’s 18 pages.

Just like last issue there are news reports from the various Travian.com servers, which are always interesting to read. I wrote the news reports for Server 2 and Server 9, so if you like my writing be sure to check it out (and if you don’t then why are you reading my blog in the first place?).

Read issue #2 online by following this link: http://com.travianteam.com/dateien/com_magazine_2010_03.pdf

 Unfortunately the news reports I wrote are a little dated – the deadline for getting them in was earlier in March, and since I wrote them Server 2 has ended and the World Wonders have arrived on Server 9. Hopefully for the 3rd issue there will be less of a gap between the submission deadline and the final issue.

The news report for Server 6 is really well done. Nice job Riot.

There’s also a really interesting interview with an alliance leader from Server 1 who was part of last round’s victorious Meta-alliance and has returned to play this round. And a less interesting interview with Shadowspirit, the Travian.com forum coordinator (sorry Shadowspirit, but reading about the forums is a lot less captivating than reading about the game).

Another great section is a guide to the automatic pushing protection and the automatic conquering protection. I think these are best explanations of these new changes I’ve read. I assume this means issue #3 will have a write-up about the new bot detection system. 

The last thing I want to mention is the cool cryptogram puzzle on page 23. I don’t have time to solve it right now but it looks like fun, and if you can be one of the first people to solve it you can get 50 gold! (Of course, hardcore players have probably already beaten you to it by now, but still, 50 gold is pretty generous)

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I seem to be having trouble getting the issue to open using Internet Explorer as my browser. But it shows up fine when I use Firefox.

Leave a Reply

