My Thoughts On Travian 3.6 (Part 1)

Ever since Travian version 3.6 was announced, there’s been a big reaction from players on the various Travian forums around the world. I’ve posted several stories about Travian 3.6 on this site, but I haven’t really gone through how I feel about the new version of the game in-depth. Now that it looks like it’s here to stay, and that most, if not all, new future servers will be using this version, I thought I’d take the time to put all of my thoughts on Travian 3.6 together, so that my readers can know where I stand on things. 

Besides affecting me as a player, the changes to Travian 3.6 will also be affecting this site, in ways that no one besides myself has probably even thought about. But I’m sure that people who regularly visit this site will want to know how this site will be changed by Travian 3.6.

Let me start by saying that I’m a big fan of Travian. That’s probably pretty obvious because otherwise I wouldn’t have started this site, but I think it’s important that I preface what I’m about to say with this. Travian is, without a doubt, one of the best games I have ever played. Maybe my favourite game ever. It’s definitely right up there with Starcraft, Civilization, etc. When you like a game that much, it’s understandable that when a change is announced that you think will make the game worse, you have a strong reaction to it. Many other Travian players felt the same way.

Some of the changes introduced in Travian 3.6 were understandable, even if I didn’t like them. But some of the other changes could really alter the way the game is played, and I don’t think that I will like the new version Travian as much as I like the old version. And when I’ve already sunk a lot of time into this site, the prospect of that happening is depressing, to say the least.

With that being said, I also feel as though we should give the game designers at Travian Games the benefit of the doubt. Surely they wouldn’t screw up their own game. There’s too much money on the line for that to happen, right? It would never be allowed. They must have some reasons for making these changes. And no, I’m not just talking about making more money. Because if the changes are unpopular and make the game worse, then they’ll end up making less money. I believe that the designers think these changes are good, and I’m going to try to see their side, even if I don’t agree with it. So I’m going to try to do posts that explore what the reasons behind these changes are.

But what really peeves me off, and I realise that I’m in a unique situation here, is that Travian 3.6 messes with why I started this website in the first place. I started this site to record the winning alliances of, what I considered at the time, the grandest, most competitive, and hardest to win strategy game in existence. I was massively in favour of all of the major changes made when they introduced version 3.5, which gave the game even more depth and helped balance the three tribes. I thought that a near-perfect game was going to get even better.  And I was excited to see what they would eventually do with Travian 4.0, which I was sure would bring even more improvement to the game.

With the introduction of Travian 3.6, now I’m instead worried about the future holds for Travian, and whether or not the game will get better or worse. And in the meantime, I’m stuck covering (and playing) a game that I’m a less enthusiastic about than I once was.

Travian 3.6 sucks all of the life out the metaphorical room when it comes to blogging about Travian. It’s hard to write about how great the endgame of Server 6 or Server 7 is when you know that version 3.6 is on the horizon, and it’s probably not going to be as much fun to cover as previous rounds were. It’s like trying to have fun when you know that in a few days something bad is going to happen.

We’ve just about reached the ending of the first server on Travian.com to be played under Travian 3.5 rules. I was all ready to write a post that got reactions from players on that server regarding the changes introduced with Travian 3.5, and how they affect the game. Now writing all about that seems almost pointless. The game will be so different in Travian 3.6, what’s the point of even talking about how Travian 3.5 changed the game?

I really liked Travian 3.5. A lot of players did. And we barely even got a chance to enjoy it before it got changed to Travian 3.6. The introduction of the artifacts brought about countless new strategies to the game, and other Travian 3.5 changes were sure to have interesting ramifications on the game as well. But now we won’t get to see what they would have been. Instead the game takes a wild turn in a direction that none of us saw coming and none of us asked for.

Also, when I hear that several of the best players really hate these changes and don’t want to play Travian anymore because of them, well that just disappoints me to no end. I created this site to be the Travian Hall of Champions, but now a lot of those players who would have made it into the Hall of Champions are just going to leave the game. It remains to be seems how widespread this is, but so far this is a significant and disappointing development.

My plan for this site was to really roll it out to all English-speaking servers once Travian 3.5 games reached their endgame. By doing it this way, my plan was to give myself enough time to get the site set up, build a following, and develop routine that would let me have the site perfect just in time for the new version of the game to run its course. It also gave me a clear way to draw the line as to when the Hall of Champions started, which is something that I really wanted to have.

Now we have this odd situation when some servers will be recorded as being Travian 3.5 and some will be Travian 3.6 and the two versions are wildly different and most skilled players favour the old version. It puts me in a bad situation but I’ll try to make the most of it.

There’s a lot more I’ll say about Travian 3.6 in the near future, and I’ll be taking an in-depth look at the changes, what people’s reactions to them are, and why they were made. I just wanted to start by getting this off my chest, and I actually feel a bit better now that I’ve finally gotten this out of my system. I’d love to hear people’s comments and if you like Travian 3.6 feel free to respond and say why. I’d actually like to hear it and I think it would help cheer me up a little to hear from SOMEONE who likes these changes.

Tangent: How this affected me as a player: I haven’t spent any gold since the Travian 3.6 upgrade was announced. I log in less time per day, do less raiding, and check my sitters accounts less often. My enthusiasm isn’t there right now. Hopefully it will come back soon.

One Response

  1. I totally hate 3.6, not all features but the way its been developed is way wrong!

Leave a Reply

